Diary: Readings and Events

UPCOMING EVENTS

Thursday 24 January 2019  (6.45pm) York Explore (with John Foggin and Joan Johnston), Library Square, York, YO1 7DS

Thursday 14 February 2019 (8pm) – Albert Poets, The Albert, 36 Victoria Ln, Huddersfield HD1 2QF

Monday 18 March 2019  (2pm) Read to Write Mexborough,  Mexborough Library

Saturday 23 March 2019 (2-4pm) – Jackanory, 55 Westgate, Wakefield WF1 1BW

Monday 10 June 2019 (7-9.30pm) Soundbites, HEART (Headingley  Enterprise and Arts Centre) , Bennett Road, Headingley, LS6 3HN

PAST EVENTS

Monday 14 January 2019 (8.00pm) – Beehive Poets (with Charlotte Wetton), The New Beehive, 171 Westgate,  Bradford, BD1 3AA

Sunday 13 January 2019 Chapel FM Radio Word Club #11(10-11.00am) Listen to the show on this link

Thursday 10 January 2019 (7.30-10.30pm) – Sheep Town, Bojangles Bar, 20 Newmarket Street,  Skipton, BD23 2HR

Sunday 18 November 2018 (4pm) –  Runcible Spoon (with Oz Hardwick),  Miners Arms,  107 Albert Road, Morley, Leeds, LS27 8LG

Thursday 18 October 2018 (8pm) The Purple Room, The Wheatley Arms,  Wheatley Lane, Ben Rhydding, Ilkley LS29 8PP

Thursday 4 October 2018 (7-9pm) Half Moon Books Poets (with Alicia Fernandez, Barbara Howerska, Rachel Kerr and Nick Allen) Marsden Library, Mechanics Hall,  Peel Street, Huddersfield, HD7 6BW

Wednesday 3 October 2018  (8pm) Word Space, The Hop Shack, 135 New Road Side, Horsforth, Leeds, LS18 4QD

Saturday 22 September 2018 (2-4pm) – Jackanory, 55 Westgate, Wakefield WF1 1BW

Friday 31 August 2018 (8-11pm)– WORD CLUB (with Barbara Howerska and Adrian Salmon), the busy monthly poetry night run by Mark Connors at the Chemic Tavern, Woodhouse in Leeds.   As usual there’ll be an open mic and guests.

Wednesday 1 August 2018 (8pm) Spire Writes, Rutland Arms, 23 Stevenson Place, Chesterfield, S40 1XL

Sunday 29 July 2018 (12-4pm) – Poetry at the Parsonage (a poetry reading to celebrate Emily Bronte’s 200th birthday) The Old School Room, Church Street, Haworth, BD22 8DR

Saturday 21 July 2018 (3pm-Late)Launch: Letters to a First Love from the Future at the Victoria Hotel, 23 Great George Street, Leeds, LS1 3DL. There’ll be an open mic and Andy will be reading from  his sequence followed by a few celebratory drinks.

Thursday 19 July 2018 (6-8pm) Half Moon Books Poets reading at the Hyde Park Book Club, 27-29 Headingley Lane, Leeds LS6 1BL

Bank Holiday Monday 28 May 2018 (11am-11pm) 12-Hour Charity Open Mic Poetry  event at Brooklyn, Call Lane, Leeds.  This event is to raise money to help protect the rainforest in Costa Rica.

Sunday 25 March 2018 (5.30-8pm) – As the poem ‘Et in Arcadia Ego’ (Letters to a First Love from the Future) was Highly Commended in the York Literature Festival / YorkMix Poetry Competition, Andy was invited to read at the awards ceremony which took place on one of Citycruisersyork’s Ouse Cruisers.

Sunday 1 October 2017 (2pm),  at Broderick Hall, Leeds City Museum, Andy read ‘The Playing Fields’ (Letters to a First Love from the Future) which won 1st place (£100) in the Leeds City Museums Poetry Competition .

Saturday 24 June 2017 (10am-12pm), as part of the annual Ted Hughes Poetry Festival,  Andy led a two-hour Sylvia Plath Poetry Workshop using Plath’s poems to spark off  creative poetry exercises.

Andy Armitage, Poet and Editor from Leeds, West Yorkshire

%d bloggers like this: